4th Floor, 4 Tabernacle Street London EC2A 4LU

6 Phases of Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC)

6 Phases of Software Testing Life Cycle

We cannot downplay the role of software testing in any software development process because it takes care of the quality of every software product. It is also an integral part of the software development life cycle (SDLC) that should be required right from the beginning of every software project, however it is most often performed only at the testing phases.

For an effective testing process, tests are best performed systematically over several phases until a product is ready for release. The testing field have seen various strategies and approaches to testing introduced over the years, which are designed with optimum software quality at its core, one of which is the software testing life cycle (STLC).

What is Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC)

Software Testing Life Cycle (STLC) is a testing strategy consisting of a sequence of specific activities conducted during a testing process to ensure that software quality goals are met. STLC is made up of a series of activities carried out methodologically to help certify a software product.

STLC Phases

There are six major phases in every Software Testing Life Cycle Model (STLC Model) which include:

  1. Requirement Analysis:

During this phase, requirements collected in the software development life cycle process are evaluated to identify testable aspects. If necessary, testing teams may need to consult with stakeholders to clarify requirements. This phase helps to identify the scope of the testing which can either be functional or non-functional.

  1. Test Planning:

Here, the test strategy is outlined in a test plan document which should include the scope, objectives, tools needed, testing steps, types of functional and non-functional tests (both automated and manual), details for the test environments, roles and responsibilities. This documentation will both inform testers and other departments how the testing work will commence and will also keeping everyone on the same page.

  1. Test case development:

At this stage, testers can begin to write and create detailed test cases, which implies the use of manual and automated testing to achieve full coverage of the software’s functionality, with the process being based on the requirements set up at the requirement analysis phase.

  1. Test Environment setup:

This provides the setting where the actual testing occurs. During this phase, testing environments are configured and deployed as well as setting up test servers. Once the test environments are deployed, smoke tests are performed to ensure that environments are working as expected with all intended functionality.

  1. Test Execution:

At this phase the product is fully tested. Tests are performed based on the test documentation and all test results are recorded in the Test Management System. Any test scenario where the actual result differs from the one expected, the errors are recorded and transferred to the development team for revision with subsequent rechecking after correction.

  1. Test Cycle closure:

This is the last phase of the STLC where the process of testing is analyzed. Testing  team provides a test closure report which covers the time spent, the percentage of errors found to positive test results, the total number of errors found and fixed.


The software testing life cycle will help detect issues with any software product early on in the development process and it can also help better organize testing workflow, as well as drive efficiency into an otherwise chaotic process. However, each phase of the STLC is complex and requires different skill sets in order to ensure that software application runs smoothly and is free of errors.

An experienced software development company like PodTech can assist with this critical aspect of the development process. Our team of QA engineers is ready to take on your app if launching a successful user friendly application is your agenda.